Ağu 112012

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award Recipients
for Program Director Excellence 2012

The ACGME is proud to announce the ten recipients of the 2012 Parker J. Palmer Courage to
Teach Award, which honors program directors who find innovative ways to teach residents and
to provide quality health care while remaining connected to the initial impulse to care for others
in this environment. Parker J. Palmer is the author of the book The Courage to Teach and
whose promotion of the concept of “living divided no more” has proven relevant to teaching in
academic health centers. Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

Felix K. Ankel, MD
Emergency Medicine
Regions Hospital/ HealthPartners Institute
of Medical Education
St. Paul, MN

Stephanie A. Call, MD, MSPH
Internal Medicine
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA

Grace L. Caputo, MD, MPH
Phoenix Children’s Hospital/Maricopa
Medical Center
Phoenix, AZ

D. Scott Gantt, D.O., FACC, FSCAI
Cardiovascular Disease
Texas A&M University HSC-Scott & White
Memorial Hospital
Temple, TX

Waguih William IsHak, MD, FAPA
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and UCLA
Los Angeles, CA

Mary E. Klingensmith, MD
Washington University
St. Louis, MO

Alan K. Louie, MD, DFAPA
San Mateo County Behavioral Health
and Recovery Services
San Mateo, CA

Charles B. Seelig, MD, MS, FACP
Internal Medicine
Greenwich Hospital
Greenwich, CT

Rebecca R. Swan, MD, FAAP
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN

Andrew J. Varney, MD
Internal Medicine
Southern Illinois University
Springfield, IL

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>